Thai Fish Cakes

 

Delicious Thai Fish Cakes are super easy and very satisfying. If you have a food processor, you’re halfway there.

I am lucky enough to have a Kaffir Lime tree in a pot in the backyard. Always use fresh leaves if you can, as frozen ones can taste bitter. I find scissoring the leaves straight into the bowl is a much easier way of getting fine shreds, but then it could be because my knife skills are pretty ordinary.

I use Blue Grenadier for this one as it’s reasonably priced (remember, you’re just mushing it in a processor after all). 

THAI FISH CAKES

  • 500g boneless white fish fillets (skin off)
  • 2 tablespoons red curry paste
  • 2 tablespoons fish sauce
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon white sugar
  • 4 snake beans, trimmed, chopped (normal green beans are fine too, about 6 or 7)
  • 3 kaffir lime leaves, finely shredded
  • vegetable oil, for deep-frying
  • Coriander
  • Thai Sweet Chilli Sauce

METHOD

Place fish, curry paste, fish sauce, egg and sugar in a food processor. Process until well combined.

Transfer to a bowl. Add beans and kaffir lime. Stir to combine. Using 2 tablespoons of mixture at a time, shape mixture into small patties.

Place on a tray. Cover and refrigerate for 1 hour.

Fill a wok or large frying pan with a few inches of oil.  Heat over medium heat until hot. Cook fish cakes, in batches, turning, for 5 minutes or until golden and cooked through. Garnish with coriander and serve with Thai sweet chilli sauce

These can make an impressive starter or a main meal if accompanied by a nice salad with Asian greens, cucumber, carrot, etc.

A glass of Pinot Grigio and you’re on a winner.

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Thai Fish Cakes”

  1. Alice Shaw says :

    Oh yum, I’m salivating reading about those fishcakes. Think I will try them this weekend! Mmmm…

  2. wollywally says :

    They look yummi! Will try soon! Thank you! 🙂 love ooxx

  3. Susie says :

    I love me some Thai Fish Cakes! The only thing I get nervous about is getting the curry paste right. Too much and I can’t eat it. Too little and you are wasting your time. I never know which brand to buy so I end up getting a different kind each time and they vary in heat. Which one do you use?

  4. The Hungry Navigatrix says :

    Welcome Paul.

    There’s an old saying in kitchen circles – ‘always do a dummy-run before inviting master chefs over for dinner’.

    Trust me, they’re easy.

  5. Paul says :

    I’m having a master chef (a real one, not a TV or Junior one) over for dinner soon to sample a batch of my green curry. I reckon these will be ace as an entree.

    So, I will let you know just how “super easy” they are for a kitchen numbskull like me.

    Otherwise, it’s off to the Press Council, Navigatrix!

    • Paul Clifton says :

      Hi Lou

      Well, I finally had Chef Glenby over for dinner, and I won’t be needing to report you to the Intertubes Press Council – the Thai fish cakes were easy and they were delicious!

      I did a test run the night before, and made them a bit smaller on the 2nd night so they’d cook quicker without burning. Chef gave them a thumbs up!

      Thanks for adding a new entree to my paltry repertoire!

      Px

Leave a Reply

