Roasted Pumpkin & Couscous Salad

This is one of my favourite options when asked to ‘bring a salad’. The veggies and couscous make it a little more substantial than a green salad and is a tasty accompaniment to BBQs and grilled meats.

ROASTED PUMPKIN & COUSCOUS SALAD

500g Pumpkin, sliced

Olive oil

Sea salt

1 cup couscous

1 1/4 cups water or vegetable stock

2 tablespoons butter

125g Green beans, trimmed

1/3 cup mint leaves

Dressing

1/2 cup of plain yoghurt

2 teaspoons ground cumin

2 tablespoons chopped mint

1 tablespoon honey

Place the pumpkin in a baking dish and toss with a little olive oil and sea salt. Bake in a preheated 200 degree C oven for about 30 minutes, until the pumpkin is golden and soft. Set aside.

Place the couscous in a bowl and pour over boiling water or stock. Add butter to couscous and allow bowl to stand for 5 minutes or until the water has been absorbed. Blanch the beans in boiling water, drain and cool. 

To make dressing, combine yoghurt, cumin, mint and honey.

Take a platter and top with couscous. Arrange the pumpkin, beans and mint over the top. Just before serving, generously dollop over the dressing.

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Roasted Pumpkin & Couscous Salad”

  1. Susie says :

    OK, this is officially MY go-to-salad. Fabulous. I did deviate somewhat in that I added slivered almonds to the couscous. I think that next time I make it (tonight) I will toast the almonds and sprinkle them on top instead though.

    I have been asked to a BBQ tonight and when I said “what can I bring?” I was instructed to bring this salad and nothing else.

  2. Susie says :

    OK this was a HIT. They loved it. It looked brilliant. It had all the elements of a good substantial salad and the dressing was awesome. Thanks so much!!!

  3. Susie says :

    That sounds fab and exactly what I need for the BBQ I am having on Friday night!
    xxx

    • Susie says :

      Do you serve it warm or cold? Can I make it ahead of time and then add the dressing at the last minute?

      • The Hungry Navigatrix says :

        Hi Susie.
        I have done both. More often than not I’ve served it at room temperature. You could definitely pre-prepare and add the dressing last minute.

        It makes me so happy when people actually make my recipes! Make sure you report back with your verdict – good or bad.

        • Susie says :

          I think this is going to be something I will make over and over. I made the dressing and it’s ready to go. Tastes awesome! The pumpkin, beans and mint are ready to go. Couscous will be next! I like stuff I can make in advance so when guests arrive you’re not chained to the kitchen!!!

Leave a Reply

