Raspberry Friands

I was going to make cupcakes for my Dad’s visit this morning but realised I was low on flour. Brainwave – friands! These little tempters are mostly almond meal with only a small amount of flour and are deceptively simple to make.  The tartness of the raspberries is perfectly balanced with the almondy sweetness of the cake. You can also use blueberries as a happy substitute.

Only trouble is I now have 5 egg yolks left over. Any suggestions on what to do with them, other than hollandaise?

PS. I know I’m probably breaking some cardinal rule but I don’t own a friand tin (they’re usually oval-shaped) and use a muffin tin instead. Promise I won’t tell anyone if you do the same.

 

RASPBERRY FRIANDS

1 cup almond meal

2 teaspoons finely grated lemon zest

1½ cups pure icing sugar

1/3 cup plain flour

5 egg whites

150g butter, melted

100g raspberries, fresh or frozen

extra pure icing sugar, to serve

Preheat oven to 180oC. Grease a friand (or muffin!) tin.

Place almond meal, lemon zest, sifted icing sugar, flour and egg whites into a bowl. Mix until smooth. Add melted butter and mix until combined. Spoon batter into prepared pan (fill to about ¾). Sprinkle with raspberries (about 5 each). Bake  for about 20 minutes or until golden and firm.

Allow to cool 10 minutes in pan before turning onto a wire rack to cool completely. Dust with icing sugar, to serve.

(Makes 12)

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Raspberry Friands”

  1. InTolerant Chef says :

    They are such simple creatures for such sophisticated flavours aren’t they? Yumm!

  2. Susie says :

    Wow they are much easier than I realised. Going to try these!

  3. Christie @ Fig & Cherry says :

    They look so perfect, nice work!

    Egg yolks: custard, mayonnaise, ice cream.

  4. Alice Shaw says :

    I love friands. I am definitely going to try this recipe but I’m really not much of a cook… you’ve given me some confidence though.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

